Modeling Chemistry Objectives

Although I have yet to formally write out all my goals that will be included in my professional devleopement plan (PDP – see previous post for why I’m doing this), I know that I want to change my grading system so that students understand that the main goal of my class is not to “earn points” but to LEARN.

That’s why I think standards based grading (SBG) makes so much sense.  It really helps students own what they know and figure out what they need to improve.

The first step in making the switch to SBG is to have some standards.  I was already sharing with students what I wanted them to learn in each unit (my lists for them were slightly modified versions of the objectives that come with the official Modeling Chemistry curriculum materials).  I felt I needed to tweak these a bit to get something that I wanted to use for SBG.  My goal was to write my standards/objectives in a way that it would be clear if a student has or has not met them.

Photo from Backflip at Stock.xchng

What I have settled on for now comes from much work that Tracie Schroeder did to write her own objectives at Adventures with the Lower Level (THANKS Tracie for your willingness to share!!!) with some slight tweaking and modifcation to fit my own class pacing.  At 46 objectives, this may be too much, but I will try it out and be open to making changes as I see fit.  Feel free to borrow/steal and change for your own use!

Here are my Chemistry Objectives! (Here they are in a word document that you can edit to meet your own needs: Objectives ABC.) I have updated these to include A, B , and C level objectives, with C being my core objectives (ones that students MUST master to pass the class), B the next level up, and A the top level.

Code Standard
Lab1-B I can identify the hypothesis to be tested, phenomenon to be investigated or the problem to be solved.
Lab2-B I can identify the tested variables and conditions to be kept constant during an investigation.
Lab3-A I can use common mathematical functions to analyze and describe data.
Lab4-A I can use statistical data analysis techniques.
Lab5-C I can use equipment properly and safely.
Lab6-C I can follow all lab clean-up procedures.
Comm1-C I can communicate the details of an experimental procedure clearly and completely.
Comm2-C I can record and represent data in a meaningful way.
Comm3-A I can analyze laboratory data in order to clarify the questions, hypotheses or methods of an experiment.
Comm4-B I can convert between various units of measurement.
Comm5-B I can use significant figures to appropriately communicate the precision of data and calculations.
Comm6-A I can create graphs, tables, charts, and diagrams to communicate information about a chemical system.
Comm7-A I can use graphs, tables, charts, and diagrams to analyze information about a chemical system.
Comm8-A I can justify conclusions using experimental evidence.
Prop1-B I can define mass, volume, and density in terms of a substance’s particles using appropriate units.
Prop2-C I can apply the Law of Conservation of mass.
Prop3-A I can apply the relationship between density, mass, and volume.
Prop4-B I can identify unknown substances using density.
Energy1-C I can represent at the particle level, the characteristics (motion, spacing, arrangement, and attractions) of particles in different phases of matter.
Energy2-B I can relate the temperature of a substance to the average kinetic energy of its particles.
Energy3-A I can predict the effect on a gas of changing pressure, volume or temperature on any of the other variables.
Energy4-C I can recognize energy as a conserved, substance-like quantity that is always involved when a system undergoes change.
Energy5-A I can describe the energy transfer between a system and its surroundings during a phase or temperature change.
Energy6-A I can calculate the quantity of energy transferred, mass of substance involved, or temperature change for a system that has undergone a phase or temperature change.
Subst1-C I can distinguish between mixtures, pure substances, elements, and compounds.
Subst2-B I can describe how to separate a mixture into its component substances.
Subst3-A I can use Avogadro’s Hypothesis along with combining volumes of gases to deduce the composition of some compounds.
Subst4-B I can describe the Law of Definite Proportion and the Law of Multiple Proportions.
Count1-C I can determine the molar mass of an element or compound.
Count2-A I can convert between the number of particles and the moles of an element or compound.
Count3-B I can convert between the mass and the moles of an element or compound.
Count4-A I can determine the empirical formula and/or the molecular formula of a compound.
Count5-A I can apply the relationship between percent composition and empirical formula of a compound.
Bond1-C I can explain how ions are formed from atoms.
Bond2-B I can distinguish between metals and non-metals.
Bond3-B I can distinguish between ionic, molecular, and atomic solids.
Bond4-A I can name and write formulas for ionic compounds.
Bond5-A I can name and write formulas for molecular compounds.
React1-C I can describe chemical reactions in terms of the microscopic behavior of atoms.
React2-B I can identify evidence of a chemical reaction in terms of macroscopic observations.
React3-A I can write balanced chemical equations.
React4-A I can describe endothermic and exothermic reactions in terms of storage or release of chemical potential energy.
React5-B I can identify basic patterns  in the way substances react (reaction types) and generalize them to other chemical reactions.
Stoich1-C I can calculate the masses (or number of moles) of reactants and products in a chemical reaction from the mass (or moles) of one reactant or product.
Stoich2-A I can determine the limiting reactant of a chemical reaction.
Stoich3-A I can determine theoretical and percent yield of the products of a chemical reaction.
